Germany: Culture Shock?

img_6037

Happy Valentine’s Day.

It’s been a while since I posted my last blog post. But I’m back with another one and it’s about the things I’ve noticed for some weeks now here in Germany.

1. Everyone is nice. Even the older people.
During my last stay here in Germany, when I was still a kid, I don’t recall everyone being this nice and helpful. Some days ago I was trying to get somewhere and I ask this younger kid and he didn’t know which direction I should take. Then this old woman came to me and asked where I was going and she was so helpful like God bless her heart. Prior to that at the train station too I was so confused, didn’t know how to buy a ticket and these older people around came to me and helped me out. And they were all smiles and I was like wow where did all this niceness come from? They made my day.

2. Assuming that I’m a refugee (from Somalia).
I found this a bit funny. While I was going to get myself something to eat, this man approached me and asked if I was from Somalia, and I said no. Then he asked what I was doing in Germany, and I said for studies and he started speaking french to me. I was answering him in German, but he decided that I could speak french and spoke french alone to me. I really didn’t have the time to explain to him that I was not from Somalia so I spoke to him in french too. I speak a bit of french.

3. I can walk to anywhere.
I’m not used to the bus and tram routes, but I figured out that I could just walk where ever I wanted to go. Before I came here, I didn’t walk around because it was so easy using the car to go everywhere. Here it’s kind of different because everything is connected one way or the other and I just love the cold air on my face as I walk. It feels amazing.

4. The air + Cigarettes + Weed
This is something I really don’t like. It’s been a long time since I spelt the smoke of cigarettes. The smell makes me feel suffocated and dizzy. Whenever I go out, my nose and mouth is always covered with my shawl because I cannot bare to smell cigarettes. I literally have to take a small sniff to see if I smell anything weird, if I do, I walk as fast as I can, if I don’t then its whew and I walk at my normal pace which is like power walking XD.
At the Bahnhof (railway station) some high school students were helping me out when I was looking for a bus to take me somewhere. After they finished helping me, they OPENLY offered each other weed. Like I was shocked. Like what in the world? Mind you, I’m from somewhere where weed isn’t acceptable and considered BAD and I don’t see things like these. Sure some of my classmates smoked weed and did so many other crazy things so I know it happens among teens a lot, but I didn’t expect it to be so open. I was lost like isn’t anyone going to say anything?? That part really threw me off.

I love Germany and it feels really good to be back.

I’ll be posting more Germany Updates as time goes by. Once again, Happy Valentines Day

heart_rose_romantic_valentine_red_abstract_hd-wallpaper-1908522

Leave a Reply

